The 4th Hong Kong Public Relations Awards 2018 Calls for Submission

The 4th Hong Kong Public Relations Awards 2018 Calls for Submission

With a New Award Category “Cross-boundary Communications” Included to

Demonstrate the Excellence of Hong Kong’s Public Relations Industry


 (Hong Kong, 15 November 2018) The 4th Hong Kong

Public Relations Awards (HKPRA) 2018 is now open for application. In light of the frequent exchanges between Hong Kong and mainland China, a new award category – “Cross-boundary Communications” – has been included in the Awards to demonstrate the excellence and professionalism of practitioners in the industry. A briefing session was arranged to give details on the 4th HKPRA 2018 earlier, in which Dr Linda Tsui and Ms Cecilia Ko, the Secretary-General and Deputy Secretary-General of the Organising Committee of the HKPRA 2018, announced the details of this year’s Awards.

The HKPRA, organised by the Hong Kong Public Relations Professionals’ Association (PRPA), has become a flagship event for the public relations industry since its inception in 2010. Following the success of the Awards held previously, the PRPA launches the 4th HKPRA 2018. The Awards aims not only to give due recognition to organisations, teams and individual public relations practitioners who have planned and executed excellent and highly effective public relations campaigns that have contributed to the organisations they serve, but also to increase awareness of the significant role of public relations in helping organisations to achieve their goals by fostering better understanding and improve relationships between the organisations and the stakeholders, as well as to help raise professional standards of public relations in Hong Kong, so that public relations will better serve the business community, government bodies, non-government organisations and the Hong Kong community at large.

In addition to the seven established Campaign Awards Categories, namely, Reputation/Brand Management, Corporate Social Responsibility, Stakeholder Engagement, Integrated Marketing Communications,  New Media/Digital Communications, Event Management and NGOs/NPOs/Social Enterprises Communications, a new category has been introduced to the Awards this year– Cross-boundary Communications, with a view to recognising public relations campaigns that have been planned primarily in Hong Kong and executed across the boundary. One Gold Award and two Silver Awards will be named in each of the categories, while Merit Awards may be presented subject to Judging Panel’s decision. A Grand Award of Excellence will be presented to the overall winner among the Gold Awards, while a Most Creative Campaign Award will be presented to the entry that demonstrates the highest creativity in its communication strategies, tactics and execution. For the Individual Awards category, two Awards for Young Professional of the Year and one Award for Distinguished Professional of the Year will be presented to recognise the outstanding performance of public relations professionals.


Professor Anthony Wu Ting-yuk, Standing Committee Member of the 12th Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference National Committee, will be the Chairman of the Nomination Committee for the Distinguished Professional of the Year. Professor Wu and three other members of the Nomination Committee, who are business leaders or professional public relations practitioners, will nominate candidates for this award. Professor Paul S N Lee of the School of Communication, The Hang Seng University of Hong Kong, will be the chief judge of the judging panel. Professor Lee, together with 11 other judges leading in the fields of business, public relations, media, NGO and academia, would select winners from the entries pool.

Dr John Chan, Chairperson of the 4th HKPRA 2018 Organising Committee, said: “In view of increasing exchanges between Hong Kong and mainland China, a new award category – Cross-boundary Communications – has been created. The NGOs/NPOs/Social Enterprises Communications award category, which was established for the last Awards in 2016, was overwhelmingly welcomed by participating organisations, is retained this year.”


“The HKPRA programme has also effectively elevated the professional status and standards of the public relations profession, showcasing its functions and contributions to society,” Dr Chan added.

The application of HKPRA is now open and will end on 13 December 2018. To be considered for the Awards, all entries should relate primarily to campaigns completed or launched with major parts completed between 1 April 2017 and 31 December 2018. For online registration and more information, please visit the website of the “4th Hong Kong Public Relations Awards 2018” at


Since its establishment in 1995, the PRPA has been striving to promote professionalism in the public relations industry. The PRPA also provides a platform for practitioners to exchange views and share experience for the development of individual professionals and the industry as a whole.


Award Categories of the 4th Hong Kong Public Relations Awards 2018
Public Relations Campaign Awards

1.     Reputation / Brand Management

2.     Corporate Social Responsibility

3.     Stakeholder Communications

4.     Integrated Marketing Communications

5.     New Media / Digital Communications

6.     Event Management

7.     NGOs / NPOs /Social Enterprises Communications

8.     Cross-boundary Communications


Individual Awards

1.     Young Professional of the Year

2.     Distinguished Professional of the Year


Special Awards

1.     Grand Award of Excellence

2.     Most Creative Campaign Award

Judging Panel

Prof Paul S N LEE BSocSc, Mphil, PhD


(Chief Judge)

Professor, School of Communication
The Hang Seng University of Hong Kong
Mrs Pamela CHAN WONG Shui BBS, JPIndependent Non-Executive Director


MTR Corporation Limited

Ms Quince CHONG JP



Chief Corporate Development Officer


CLP Power Hong Kong Ltd

Mr Andy HO On-TatManaging Director


Andy Ho Public Affairs Consulting Co Ltd

Prof HUANG Yi Hui Christine PhDProfessor, School of Journalism and Communication


Programme Director, Master of Social Science in Corporate Communication

The Chinese University of Hong Kong




PRPA Founding Member


Director – Corporate Communications and Investors Relations

Hang Lung Properties Ltd

Mr Peter KWANProfessor of Practice, Programme Leader


Department of Journalism and Communication

Chu Hai College of Higher Education

Treasurer, Executive Committee

Journalism Education Foundation

Ms Jane LAUChief Executive, UNICEF Hong Kong
Ms Winnie NGDirector, The Kowloon Motor Bus Co (1933) Ltd
Mr Richard TSANGChairman, Strategic Public Relations Group Limited
Mr Chris YEUNGChief Writer, Citizen News


Vice-Chairman, Hong Kong Press Council

Mr George YUEN FHKloDIndependent Non-Executive Director,
Industrial and Commercial Bank of China (Asia) Limited


Nomination Committee for the Distinguished Professional of the Year

Professor Anthony Wu Ting-yuk GBS, JP




Standing Committee Member of the 12th Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference National Committee
Mr Philip N L CHEN GBS, JPSteward, The Hong Kong Jockey Club
Mr Walter S W CheungMember of Executive Committee & Head of Communications and Corporate Sustainability, Hang Seng Bank
Ms Clara SHEKManaging Director, Ogilvy Public Relations


Sponsors and Supporting Organisations