Distinct Winners to the 3rd Hong Kong Public Relations Awards (2016) Announced Enhancing Professional Excellence

(Hong Kong, 26 May 2017) Hong Kong Public Relations Professionals’ Association (PRPA) announced the results of the 3rd Hong Kong Public Relations Awards (2016) at the Awards Presentation Ceremony cum Gala Dinner, officiated by The Hon Mrs Carrie Lam Cheng Yuet-ngor, Chief Executive-elect, HKSAR, on 26 May 2017. To showcase the best practices and appraise the professional standards of public relations in Hong Kong, over 30 awards in 7 categories were honoured.

Granted on PR Campaign and Individual Award basis, the 3rd Hong Kong Public Relations Awards (2016) recognises excellent PR campaigns and PR professionals of outstanding performances. Dr John Chan, Chairperson of the Organising Committee of the 3rd Hong Kong Public Relations Awards (2016) said, “This year, the number of companies and organisations entering the Awards increased 60% compared with that of the last Awards. I am glad to see that the entries covered a wide spectrum of different principals of public relations and that more medium-sized local public relations firms have entered the competition. I am also glad to see that the general standard of entries has risen above that of the last two Awards.”

Formed by 9 veteran professionals from business, academic, media and public relations sectors, the Judging Panel selected the winning entries with careful scoring process. “It was really painstaking to decide winners from the finalists, all of them performed impressively at the presentation and Q & A session, and their scores are only marginally different,” said Professor Paul Lee, the Chief Judge of the Panel. “In view of the superb standard of all finalists, the Judging Panel decided to present a number of Awards of Merit in addition to the Gold and Silver Awards and the Most Creative Campaign Award.”

The Hong Kong Public Relations Awards, organised by the Hong Kong Public Relations Professionals’ Association (PRPA), has become a signature event for the public relations industry since its inception in 2010. The Awards aims to raise awareness of the significant role of public relations in helping organisations to achieve their business goals, and give due recognition to organisations and industry practitioners for their high professional standards and outstanding performance. The Awards this year received extraordinary support from more than 20 organisations and individuals for their sponsorships, 12 supporting organisations and 4 media partners.

The Awards include eight PR Campaign categories, namely Corporate Social Responsibility, Stakeholder Communications, Integrated Marketing Communications, Event Management, Reputation / Brand Management, New Media Communications and NGOs / NPOs / Social Enterprises Communications and SME Communications. A number of Awards of Merit, in addition to Gold and Silver Awards, were presented for the eight PR Campaign awards categories. A Grand Award of Excellence was presented to the overall winner among the Gold Awards. A Most Creative Campaign Award and Awards of Merit in Creativity were also presented to the entries that demonstrated the highest creativity in their communication strategies, tactics and execution. Moreover, two individual awards — Distinguished Professional of the Year and Young Professional of the Year — were presented to outstanding practitioners.

Download winner list

- End -










Media Enquiries:

Ms. Ruby Wan 9460 4900


Chief Convener, Publicity and Promotion Sub-committee

Organising Committee of The 3rd Hong Kong Public Relations Awards (2016)

Judging Panel

Prof Paul S N LEE BSocSc, Mphil, PhD

(Chief Judge)


School of Communication

Hang Seng Management College

Mrs Pamela CHAN WONG Shui BBS, JP Independent Non-Executive Director

MTR Corporation Limited

Mr Philip N L CHEN GBS, JP Managing Director

Hang Lung Properties Limited

Ms Quince CHONG JP Chief Corporate Development Officer

CLP Power Hong Kong Ltd

Prof HUANG Yi Hui Christine PhD Professor

School of Journalism and Communication

Programme Director

Master of Social Science in Corporate Communication

The Chinese University of Hong Kong;

Mr Peter KWAN Senior Teaching Fellow

Department of Media and Communication

City University of Hong Kong

Treasurer, Executive Committee

Journalism Education Foundation

Ms Winnie NG Founder and Deputy Chairman

RoadShow Holdings Limited

Mr Chris YEUNG Chief Writer

Citizen News


Hong Kong Press Council

Mr George YUEN FHKloD Independent Non-Executive Director

Industrial and Commercial Bank of China (Asia) Limited

Organising Committee of The 3rd Hong Kong Public Relations Awards (2016)

Chairperson Dr John CHAN GBS, JP
Vice Chairpersons Professor Paul S N LEE, BSocSc, Mphil, PhDD

Professor Anthony T Y WU, GBS, JP

Ms Pamela LEUNG

Secretary-General Dr Linda TSUI
Deputy Secretary-General Ms Cecilia KO
Treasurer Ms Clara LI
Award Management Sub-committee Ms Eppie TAM (Chief Convener)
Ms Elaine CHAN (Convener)
Sponsorship Sub-committee Ms Jenny TAM (Chief Convener)
Mr William IP (Convener)
Publicity and Promotion Sub-committee Ms Ruby WAN (Chief Convener)
Ms Esme LAU (Convener)
Award Presentation Ceremony and
Gala Dinner Sub-committee
Ms Stella LUNG (Chief Convener)
Ms Elin WONG (Convener)
Secretariat Ms Connie Kwong, Ms Wing Lam
Work Group members 
Mr Calvin CHAN, Ms Agnes HUI, Ms Germaine LUI

Sponsors and Supporting Organisations