Message From The Chairperson

Dr John Chan, GBS, JP
The 3rd Hong Kong Public Relations Awards (2016) Organising Committee

The Hong Kong Public Relations Awards, organised by the Hong Kong Public Relations Professionals' Association (PRPA), has become a flagship event for the public relations industry since its inception in 2010. Encouraged by the success of the first two Awards held in 2010 and 2014, the PRPA has decided to launch the 3rd Hong Kong Public Relations Awards (HKPRA 2016) and I am deeply honoured to be invited to serve again as Chairman of the Awards Organising Committee.

On behalf of the Organising Committee, I would like to thank all the sponsors and supporting organisations for helping to make the HKPRA 2016 a reality. I am also grateful to the nine members of the judging panel, who are esteemed senior professionals in the business and academic fields. May I, in particular, extend my sincere gratitude to Professor Paul Lee who will again be heading the judging panel as Chief Judge as well as serving as one of the Vice-Chairpersons of the Organising Committee.

Over the past years, the Hong Kong Public Relations Awards have modified and expanded the Campaign Awards Categories to cover a diversity of public relations functionalities in light of the changing industry landscape and technological development.

For the 3rd HKPRA 2016, in addition to the six previously established campaign awards categories (namely reputation/brand management, corporate social responsibility, stakeholder communications, integrated marketing communications, new media/digital communications and event management), the scope is widened to include two new categories - NGOs/NPOs/Social Enterprises Communications and SME Communications. We hope the enhancement will encourage more organisations and companies from these sectors to participate in the Awards.

The campaign coverage of the Integrated Marketing Communications and New Media/Digital Communications categories will also be broadened to take into account the latest technological advancement.

We will continue to recognise the outstanding performance of public relations professionals by the Individual Awards - Distinguished Professional of the Year and Young Professional of the Year. We hope more young practitioners who are the future pillars of the industry will enter for the Awards.

Winners of the Awards will present their winning campaigns to industry practitioners at workshops held after the Awards Presentation Ceremony. I am confident that the Awards will continue to provide an excellent platform for sharing best practices and help raise the professional standards of public relations for the advancement of the industry and the betterment of Hong Kong at large.

Message From The Secretary-General

Dr Linda Tsui
The 3rd Hong Kong Public Relations Awards (2016) Organising Committee

I am much honoured to serve as the Secretary-General of the Organising Committee of the Hong Kong Public Relations Awards for the third time.

The last two Awards held in 2010 and 2014 showcased many outstanding award-winning public relations campaigns and recognised the excellence and professionalism of practitioners in the industry.

Under the continued staunch support and leadership of Dr John Chan, Chairperson of the Awards Organising Committee, and dedicated joint efforts of Committee members and work group members, we are most delighted to launch the 3rd Hong Kong Public Relations Awards (HKPRA 2016). I would like to extend my heartfelt thanks and gratitude to all sponsors, media partners and supporting organisations as well. The HKPRA 2016 which commences in early December 2016, will hold the Awards Presentation Ceremony by end of May next year. Without the enthusiastic support from all parties concerned, we would not be able to organise the Awards within such a relatively short period of time.

The 2nd Awards held in 2014 attracted nearly 70 entries. We have increased the number of campaign categories from six to eight for the HKPRA 2016. The eligibility criteria of the categories have also been refined to broaden the scope of the campaign awards entries. We hope the Awards will continue to attain active participation from the industry.

Of the eight campaign categories, the newly established NGOs/NPOs/Social Enterprises Communications and SME Communications categories will allow practitioners in these sectors to participate with campaigns promoting their services or businesses based on their unique operation models. We believe promoting services or brands via public relations means is as important and effective for NGOs and small businesses as for big corporations.

The widened coverage of the New Media/Digital Communications category will enable campaigns designed to promote a new technology or the new business model of a business corporation, and not just a product, service or brand, to enter for the Awards. Likewise, both business-to-business (B2B) and business-to-consumers (B2C) promotion of a product, service or brand will be eligible to enter for the Awards under the Integrated Marketing Communications category.

There will be two Young Professional of the Year Awards to encourage more young practitioners to participate. For the Distinguished Professional of the Year Award, a nomination committee will nominate candidates for the Award and put forth to the Judging Panel for consideration and decision.

Under the able leadership of Professor Paul Lee, the panel of nine judges will adjudicate all the entry cases with their professional expertise and knowledge. The judging mechanism is serious and impartial, with the first round of judging to be done by each judge on his/ her own. Shortlisted entrants will be required to do a presentation and interview session where winners of all categories will be chosen. Thus, winners will be well deserved for the awards after such a meticulous and fair adjudication process.

On behalf of the Organising Committee, I sincerely hope that public relations practitioners, companies and organisations from different sectors of the society will continue to pledge their support through active participation to make the Awards another memorable event for the industry.